Tate Shots: Paula Rego

Dame Paula Rego is a Portuguese visual artist who is very well known for her paintings and prints. Her popular work has sort of fantasy feel to them and are often based on story books.

I admire the detail in which Paula Rego draws and paints as it makes the paintings and prints really interesting to look at because there is things going on everywhere you look.

I much prefer her prints to her paintings as I find her paintings slightly weird although they are very well painted and very cleverly designed.

I like her prints because I find them much more realistic in terms of proportion. Also, I like how they are mostly in black and white or with only one or two colours as it makes them stand out from her paintings an other work.

TateShots: Paula Rego Printing

Leave a comment